Whitecapsfan, where did ye go?

July 6, 2015 at 8:29 pm | Posted in Vancouver Whitecaps | Leave a comment

I don’t think I have ever missed so many Whitecaps or 86ers games. I was in the airport on my way to Manchester when Koffie scored his wonder goal in the Whitecaps 2-1 defeat of Real Salt Lake at BC Place.

I was asleep in Leeds when The Montreal Impact beat us 2-1. I was asleep in Oxford when the Whitecaps beat LA Galaxy 1-0.

I watched the Red Bulls match in Vancouver but was still out of it with travel exhaustion and jet lag.

I only got bits of the 2-1 win over New England because I was in Tukwila Washington watching my nephew play in a tournament. The Canadian Women were on at the same time and the hotel internet connection really was terrible.

Last Saturday’s loss in Colorado could have been a draw if a clear Colorado hand ball was called, but wait, those kinds of handballs only get called penalties when the Whitecaps are defending. This is one of the most enforced rules in the Major League Soccer’s rule book.

With all of that travel and the Women’s World Cup on it was a bit difficult to stay emotionally connected with the Whitecaps over their long road trip. Winning three road games on a five game road trip is a pretty spectacular achievement for our resilient little provincial football club, but it is hard to really celebrate when the team is so far away. There is no doubt the boys deserve a huge standing ovation when they walk on to the pitch this Sunday.

I am looking forward to reconnecting with the team this coming weekend. The road trip was so long I find it hard to remember what going to a match is like!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

