Will World Cup Coma affect the Vancouver Whitecaps?

June 23, 2014 at 8:51 pm | Posted in Vancouver Whitecaps, Whitecaps season 2014 | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

They say this is the best World Cup of recent memory.  Lots of goals and spectacular individual play coupled with some atrocious defending.  When you think about it, this year’s World Cup is rather like the Vancouver Whitecaps season:  lots of goals, spectacular individual play coupled with some atrocious defending. 

So why do I feel so lousy?  Probably from getting deep vein thrombosis through sitting in front of the television for so many hours of the day.  Then there is the hightened anxiety of trying to get World Cup matches in while juggling the rest of life’s obligations.  Trying to convince the wife you have to watch because it is a “big game” can only be used so many times before she figures out that every match at the World Cup is a big game. It really is taking its toll on me.

It reminds me of my friend John Willoughby’s statement as we watched England verses Tunisia at 5:00AM, back in France ’98: “Its a good thing we are watching the World Cup. Otherwise we’d be getting on with our lives.”  England won 3-0; that was back when England actually won World Cup games. 

Frankly, I am in a football coma.  I wonder how I will feel going to watch Wednesday night’s Whitecaps match at BC place stadium after watching the thrills in Brazils?  Can I get excited about the Vancouver Whitecaps verses the Montreal Impact?  It will be interesting to see what the crowd will be like, considering it is also a mid-week game.  Whitecaps fans are distinctly less enthusiastic about attending mid-week matches than they are for the usual Saturday afternoon time slot.

I am going because I can’t help myself.  I am a football fan. Back during the 2006 World Cup in Germany I watched two group stage World Cup matches and then went to Swangard Stadium in Burnaby and watched the Whitecaps play Miami.  The Star of the USA ’94 World Cup, Romario, was playing for Miami that night and scored an injury time goal, only for the Whitecaps to march right back up the field and score an equalizer through local boy Steve Kindel. A very memorable day indeed.

You can have the best television in the world but there is nothing like going to your local ground and supporting your home team in a live football match. I am reminded of Eduardo Galeano’s quote from Football in Sun and Shadow:

Years have gone by and I’ve finally learned to accept myself for who I am: a beggar for good football. I go about the world, hand outstretched, and in the stadiums I plead: “A pretty move, for the love of God.”

I will be there on Wednesday night to support the Whitecaps, with my hand outstretched. Lets hope the Whitecaps give us some pretty moves.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

