Abby Wambach condemns fieldturf venues in Canada’s World Cup

April 4, 2013 at 10:30 pm | Posted in General Football, Vancouver Whitecaps | 11 Comments

Anyone who reads my blog will know about my contempt for fieldturf. Though most players absolutely hate the stuff, many who play on it are muzzled by their clubs so they cannot criticize it.  While we have yet to hear one Whitecaps player criticize the fake stuff our team plays on at BC Place, you had better believe they are muttering about it among themselves.  You can also bet it is a part of their contract not to slag the stuff even if they want to.  

This is why it is refreshing to hear top soccer players telling the truth about the stuff as Abby Wambach, the American women’s team star, has done recently.  On ESPN Wambach has decried the fact that five out of the six venues for the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada will be fieldturf venues.  She makes the point that this would never occur in the men’s World Cup (she is right about that), and expresses fear for player injuries and the quality of soccer that will be played during the Cup.

It is time we got out of the soccer stone age in Canada. We must realize we will never catch up with the rest of the world while we are playing elite level football on field turf instead of natural grass.  

Here is the link: http://espn.go.com/espnw/story/_/id/9132798/abby-wambach-says-women-play-world-cup-turf-report

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Anything that annoys wambach is something I fully support. My only regret is that all 6 venues are not turf …one for each of the 6 seconds she counted in the ref’s face during the olympics.

  2. Furthermore she just hates Canada and all things Canadian. She goes on about turf yet she has no problem playing in Rochester on turf at Sahlens stadium for her league team. My only hope is that if North Korea does launch a nuke it lands in the trailer park in buffalo she calls home.

    • last sentence was a joke.

  3. I am not positive where you are getting your information,
    however great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out
    more or figuring out more. Thanks for great info I used to be on the lookout for this
    information for my mission.

  4. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be helpful to read articles from other writers and practice something from their
    websites.

  5. ” (Then, you change the focus and leave her wondering WHY you just said that. Think about it when you need an effective advertising tool which can make big impact on your promotion campaign. TPTB stands for “The
    Powers That Be” This phrase refers to any group that holds power over the money system, from politicians, to the Federal Bank Reserves, to The Banking Industry, to CEO’s, to monetary policy makers.

  6. Asking questions are in fact good thing if you are not understanding anything fully, except this
    article presents nice understanding even.

  7. I savor, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be looking
    for. You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  8. I really love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning
    to create my own blog and would like to learn where you got this from
    or exactly what the theme is called. Kudos!

  9. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed
    surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I
    hope you write again soon!

  10. certainly like your website however you have to take
    a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and
    I find it very bothersome to tell the reality then again I will surely come
    again again.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

