Missed the Chivas game: no excuses!

July 8, 2012 at 10:54 pm | Posted in Whitecaps Season 2012 | 1 Comment

I have a confession to make. I did not watch the Vancouver Whitecaps’ road game against Chivas because… I went to see a baseball game. I confess, I do like baseball… There, I have taken the burden off of my chest. Please forgive me. I foolishly accepted an invitation to see the Vancouver Canadians play baseball before checking the Whitecaps schedule.

Thank God it was a 0-0 draw at Chivas!

I have to say I had a lot of fun at the Canadians game, which is more like a social event than a sporting event. The crowd seems to pay more attention to getting up and moving around to buy food than they do to actually watching the game. And then there is the endless passing of cups of beer down your row and passing money the other way. Completely bizarre. If anyone asked me to do that at a Whitecaps game I would tell them to fuck off.

It was rather like the Whitecaps’ home games in that people seemed to show up late for the game, which makes me wonder if it is really just that Vancouverites are incredibly lazy, can’t tell time or just do not know how to plan their day that well.

The Canadians won their game 4-3. Given this year’s defensive approach under Martin Rennie, we will have to watch about 20 Whitecaps games to get to see that many goals.

Unlike Whitecaps games the fireworks display is after the game rather than before. In any event I suppose it won’t kill me to miss a match, but it does hurt a lot, and I don’t plan to make a habit of it. The saddest part of it all is that because my VCR is broken, I don’t have a recording of the match either.

Note to self: stop being so cheap and backwards and buy a PVR…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We let Chieumento go and keep an over priced slug like Hassli ….


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

