Hammers in Canada

December 11, 2007 at 6:08 am | Posted in General Football, Hammers | Leave a comment

3827_173x124.jpg

Why support an East London team from all the way over here in Vancouver BC Canada you ask?  There are a number of reasons.

1. In the early days when I started watching footy one of the games that really caught my attention was the 1980 FA Cup final between West Ham United and Arsenal.   The atmosphere at Wembly stadium was fantastic on the day.  Arsenal were the clear favorites, and I believe at that time West Ham were in the second division, or the Championship as it now is.   Trevor Brooking, one of the greatest English players, was in the WHU side and scored on a reflex header from a cross that was meant to be a shot.  It was not the prettiest goal but displayed the instincts and great positional play that all great players have.  I was also impressed with Phil Parkes, the WHU keeper (partially because another Phil Parkes played for the Whitecaps).  I remember WHU also played a young 17 year old who was brought down with a professional foul when he was clear through on a breakaway.   

2. WHU is also one of the family teams along with Leeds United and Liverpool.   My grandad loved Liverpool, My dad used to go see Leeds U, and my Uncle Peter lived in Upton Park where WHU’s ground is located.   My Cousins Robert and John are big supporters as well.

3. I like the colors of the team.

4. My good buddy JC also supports the Hammers. 

5. I decided to throw my allegience firmly behind them when I travelled to London and saw Di Canio and co beat Chelsea away 2-3 in a stunning match at Stamford Bridge.

6. Lastly,  I have to support some team when the Whitecaps are not playing!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

